Advent devotional

We’re so blessed that you have decided to share a devotional with your Hilltop family this Advent season. Please look over the dates and scripture available and then click the Sign Up! button below or call the church office to schedule.

Submit your devotion by November 8th to office@mankatohilltop.org. You can send as a Word or PDF attachment or copy text and paste directly in the email.

First Sunday of Advent Nov. 29
Isaiah 2:1-5 (War transformed into peace) / Matthew 24:36-44 (The sudden coming of salvation)
Wayne Baumgartner
Monday Nov. 30
Genesis 8:1-19 (The flood waters subside) / Romans 6:1-11 (Baptism)
Todd Gavin
Tuesday Dec. 1
Genesis 9:1-17 (The rainbow) / Hebrews 11:32-40 (The heroes of faith)
Rev. Katie Menne
Wednesday Dec. 2
Isaiah 54:1-10 (God will save the people) / Matthew 24:23-35 (The end if coming)
Julie Sip
Thursday Dec. 3
Isaiah 4:2-6 (Glory for the survivors of Zion) / Acts 1:12-17, 21-26 (Beginnings of apostolic ministry)
Dee Mattox
Friday Dec. 4
Isaiah 30:19-26 (God's promise to be gracious) / Acts 13:16-25 (Paul's testimony concerning John the Baptist)
Chery Emery
Saturday Dec. 5
Isaiah 40:1-11 (A voice crying out in the wilderness) / John 1:19-28 (John the Baptist)
Melissa Banse
Second Sunday of Advent Dec. 6
Isaiah 11:1-10 (A ruler brings peace) / Matthew 3:1-12 (Prepare the way of the Lord)
Juston Cline
Monday Dec. 7
Isaiah 24:1-16a (Judgement is coming, but glorify God) / 1 Thessalonians 4:1-12 (Live in holiness and love one another)
Onalee Green
Tuesday Dec. 8
Isaiah 41:14-20 (God will not forget the poor of Israel) / Romans 15:14-21 (Gentiles are also called to obedience of faith)
Ken Green
Wednesday Dec. 9
Genesis 15:1-18 (God's covenant with Abram) / Matthew 12:33-37 (A good tree bears good fruit)
Jeanette Phillips
Thursday Dec. 10
Ruth 1:6-18 (Ruth's fidelity toward Naomi) / 2 Peter 3:1-10 (The promise of the Lord's coming)
Erin Anderson
Friday Dec. 11
Ruth 4:13-17 (God's fidelity toward Ruth) / 2 Peter 3:11-18 (Prepare for the Lord's coming)
Rev. Art Keith
Saturday Dec. 12
1 Samuel 2:1-8 (Hannah sings in praise of God's fidelity) / Luke 3:1-18 (The proclamation of John the Baptist)
Stacy Vanderwerf
Third Sunday of Advent Dec. 13
Isaiah 35:1-10 (The desert blooms) / Matthew 11:2-11 (The forerunner of Christ)
Paulette Adams
Monday Dec. 14
Isaiah 29:17-24 (The infirm will be healed) / Acts 5:12-16 (Many people healed by the Apostles)
Amy Brown
Tuesday Dec. 15
Ezekiel 47:1-12 (The wilderness will flower) / Jude 17-25 (Prepare for the Lord's coming)
Michelle Behsman
Wednesday Dec. 16
Zachariah 8:1-17 (God's promise to Zion) / Matthew 8:14-17, 28-34 (Jesus heals)
Alanna Johnson
Thursday Dec. 17
2 Samuel 7:1-17 (God will build you a house) / Galatians 3:23-29 (Children of God by Christ's coming)
Don Putzier
Friday Dec. 18
2 Samuel 7:18-22 (David prays for God's faithfulness) / Galatians 4:1-7 (God's Son, sent in the fullness of time)
DeAnne Hill
Saturday Dec. 19
2 Samuel 7:23-29 (David reminds God of God's promises) / John 3:31-36 (The one who comes from above)
Shane Moore
Fourth Sunday of Advent Dec. 20
Isaiah 7:10-16 (The sign of Immanuel) / Matthew 1:18-25 (Our God near at hand)
Michael Olson
Monday Dec. 21
Genesis 21:1-21 (God saves Hagar and Ishmael) / Galatians 4:21-5:1 (Two women, two covenants, one freedom)
Debbie Kempton
Tuesday Dec. 22
Isaiah 33:17-22 (The Lord will save us) / Revelation 22:6-7, 18-20 (See, I am coming)
Jocelin Maine
Wednesday Dec. 23
2 Samuel 7:18, 23-29 (Your servant will be blessed) / Galatians 3:6-14 (The promise of the Spirit)
David Karim
Christmas Eve Dec. 24
Isaiah 9:2-7 (A child is born for us) /Luke 2:1-20 (God with us)
Tina Marti
Christmas Day Dec. 25
Isaiah 52:7-10 (Heralds announce God's salvation) / John 1:1-14 (The Word became flesh)
Matt Sipe